Best Of Brandon Awards celebrate outstanding contributions

Paul Wright (right) took the Lifetime Achievement Awards – Photo: Adam Brown

The spirit of community and excellence shone brightly at the annual Best of Brandon Awards which took place on Friday 22nd March.

This year marks the fifth anniversary of this prestigious event, which celebrates the outstanding contributions made by individuals and organisations to Brandon.

The awards are presented across five categories: Group, Business, Young Achiever, Volunteer, and Lifetime Achievement.

Live music performed by Aaron Jeffries from Jukebox Money kicked off the evening, held at Breckland School, setting the stage for an exceptional night ahead.

The award presentations began with the recognition of groups whose collaborative efforts have made a significant impact on the town. Brandon Seniors Club was this year’s winner with Brandon Town CFC and Zebras Children and Adults Charity taking the runner-up awards.

Mark Skinner Funeral Service took home the business award, with Brandon School of Dance receiving a well-deserved nod as runner-up in this category.

Best of Brandon Awards – Photo: Adam Brown

With a brief intermission announced, guests helped themselves to a quick bite to eat from the buffet provided by Edwards & Brown Catering. This pause provided nominees with valuable time to catch up with one another before rejoining the spotlight for the remaining presentations.
Introduced for the first time in 2024, the Young Achiever category highlighted outstanding students nominated by each of Brandon’s three schools – Glade Academy, Forest Academy, and Breckland School.

Lennon Wharf, Lexie Clark and Martha Hutt were all honoured for their exceptional achievements both inside and outside the classroom.

The event culminated with the presentation of the Volunteer and Lifetime Achievement awards, honouring individuals whose dedication commitment have left an indelible mark on the community.

Michael Doyle, chairman of Brandon Town CFC, was winner of the volunteer award with Gill Flack and Leah Sanders taking the runners-up trophies.

Michael Doyle took the volunteer trophy – Photo: Adam Brown

The renowned Lifetime Achievement award was presented by to Paul Wright by Mark Skinner, underscoring the significance of the recipient’s lifelong contributions to the town. Ann Betts and Dave Palmer secured the runner-up positions.

Terry Hawkins, who organises the event alongside Lianne Spooner and Gary Brocklehurst, said: “These awards are a testament to the commitment and dedication of the community here in Brandon.

“It’s great to see so many people come together to celebrate those who make such amazing contributions to our town.

“The Best of Brandon Awards not only recognise past achievements but also inspire continued efforts towards building a stronger and more inclusive community for generations to come.”

A full gallery of photos, from this year and previous years, can be seen at This is also where you can submit nominations for the 2025 awards once nominations open later this year.

Brandon Seniors Club with their group award – Photo: Adam Brown
Scroll to Top